Why I Crave Simplicity

My window is open -it always is in the summer- and right now I can hear the rain falling, birds cackling and chirping, and a squirrel telling someone exactly what he thinks of their stash stealing efforts.  These things bring me such peace.  And they’re so simple, too, all I have to do is show up and pay attention.  I think that could be one of the big secrets to life: the real magic is in the found moments.  It’s noticing, with all our senses, what delights our hearts.  

There is a lot to distract us in this world, and that’s okay, because we actually do have the power to choose.  For instance, today I’ve chosen to leave my cell phone switched off.  I know, wild, right? 

I plan to spend most of my day enjoying reading these:

IMG_9232

Sipping on this:

IMG_9233

And looking out for this little fellow to come back:

IMG_9228

Again, very simple pleasures, but pleasures nonetheless. 

That’s the thing, you see, I’m choosing to spend my day this way.  It’s Sunday, why shouldn’t I do it my way?  Following that to it’s logical conclusion, why shouldn’t I create all of my days in this way?  Well, for the time being, I’ve got limited amounts of time that are my own.  We can all say that, I know.  And to be honest, life well lived does include having to work around other people.  I know, I know, some days… right?  But that doesn’t mean I should just hang up my heart’s desires for “someday when…”  On the contrary!  What that means is that I need to make room in my life for doing what matters to me every day.  Even more importantly, once I create that space, I actually have to sit down and do those things, but that’s a separate issue.  

So for now, I’m simplifying, or better still, refining.  I’m letting go of “not my favourite” in order to make room for “I love this!”  I started by tossing some lipstick and perfume I never wear, donating books I’ve no intention of reading again (or for the first time), and packing up some jigsaw puzzles I have no room to assemble.  This makes space for makeup looks I actually like -I’m a five minute face girl, enhance the natural all the way- books I actually do use (though I do solemnly swear that I’m not buying more just now), and a dining room I can actually eat in!  See?  Refinement!  Not only does it make space in my surroundings, but it stops the energy drain of leaving things undone that sort of silently nag at the back of my mind.

I’ve come to understand that there is never going to be a better time than right now.  In fact, I very much advocate for not letting “should” and excuses prevent you from doing what you really want to be doing.  I’ve said it before, the chores will always be there, but some things like doing dishes or washing clothes do kind of need to get done on the regular.  I also know there are other things that I’ve been clinging onto because I just haven’t wanted to admit that they don’t fit me anymore, if they ever did.  These are where I can simplify, refine my life, and make room for beauty and pleasure to grow.

Now, isn’t that the idea?  Build a life of pleasure by making room for pleasure to build.  Such a simple shift, but it’s all in how you face it.  At the end of the day, what matters is how I choose to show up in my life.  In the name of refining that energy, I have reached a point where I have to let go.  Whether it’s an outmoded idea, an outfit, or even props for a lifestyle I thought I wanted, what I require most of all right now is the space to let my own truth grow.

And who knows, letting go of something good could make room for me to grow something great.

Leave a Reply

