New Beginnings

Oxford English Dictionary defines hedonism as: 1. the pursuit of pleasure; sensual self-indulgence.  2. the ethical theory that pleasure (in the sense of the satisfaction of desires) is the highest good and proper aim of human life.

To me, that`s mindfulness in a sexier outfit.

Hygge: A quality of cosiness and comfortable conviviality that engenders a feeling of contentment or well-being (regarded as a defining characteristic of Danish culture)

Well, that sounds really good, too!

IMAG0127

Here`s the scoop:  I have hit a point in my life where I`m ready to make changes.  Don`t get me wrong, my life is pretty great.  But it`s an external kind of great, and I`m ready to be brilliant from the inside out.

You see, happiness is an inside job.  

Coco Chanel said, “My life didn’t please me, so I created my life.” 

That’s what I’m going to do, too.  Starting with diving into hedonism, exploring pleasure, and infusing pleasure into my daily life.  Because I’ve spent more time reacting to life than actually living it, and I am so done with that crap!  So, I may not have my dream job yet, and my bank balance may be a little anemic at the moment (but the bills are paid, YAY!).   All of that is yesterday’s news.  Today is my beautiful country’s 150th birthday (yep, I am Canadian) and I can’t think of a better time to draw a line under it all and say, “The End.”  After all, every ending is a new beginning.

From now on, I will slow down and live my life in real time.  I will taste my food, eat with pleasure, and stop when I’m elegantly satisfied.  I will take note of as many sweet moments as I can throughout the day; the sunrise, the wind in my hair, my dogs snoring, a sweet strawberry fresh off the vine, candlelight, frost on the window, a starry night… the list is really quite long if I stop to think about it.  I will cultivate the discipline I need to really dive into and experience the most of what life has to offer.  And I will create the beautiful life and living that I crave.

I believe that we are all hungry for this.  Our western culture is so fast-paced and focused on instant gratification, that we’re missing what we actually need: time, space, coziness, and beauty.  It’s out there, just waiting for our souls to cry out in recognition, but we’re becoming too busy and distracted to even acknowledge that longing.  Well, I’ve had enough, I tender my resignation from crazy-fast living.  From this moment on, I choose to be happy, and to live on purpose.

 

 

Leave a Reply

